Confidence is the new sexy.

by crazyauntdelilah

Confidence is the new sexy.

At a recent seminar, I heard a panelist use these words.  They stuck. Are we generationally conflicted about confidence, and how it impacts our professional and personal lives, meaning do each of us feel a different sense of confidence in our work craft vs. personal development, spiritual growth and/or family balance?

I do.

If confidence is the new sexy, how we do ensure that the sassy icon and size 14, Marilyn Monroe, is shared with our young people who know how to manipulate Photoshop but STILL see publications with women of size 2?

Years ago, only those of us who live in the Mac cult world like me knew the inner workings of Photoshop and Illustrator to mess with imagery.  Today, anyone with a laptop can upload distortion.  Who are the publishers of these pubs knowing that their twisted imagery is an eating disorder waiting to happen?  They certainly can’t all be size 2′s themselves, and if not, don’t they have daughters of their own? How do they answer that question at the dinner table?  Surely, they don’t serve peas and humus from birth on…..

My own tween is a fit, slender young woman beginning to blossom, and she was disappointed when the physician told her she may not hit 5’8″, when she always imagined a 5’10″. She is slender because of genetics, as she would still prefer sugar be a part of the food pyramid.  (her own words)

Now, as a mom, I am thrilled I didn’t pass on the “oaf” complex I have felt for years as the “tall” girl (and at only 5’7″), but to hear her weeks ago try on my heels and say, “my calf’s look hot”, made me cringe.  And at a birthday party tonight, one of her friends said, “I can’t have cake, I’m too fat already.”  From where did that come?  Is it puberty?  These are smart, amazing, strong, beautiful young women in the making, and while I consistently reinforce what I believe to be the right words, how do we, as parents, ever truly know what they hear v listen to from us v. outside influences?

We don’t.

Letting go as they find independence and their own confidence isn’t easy.  I hear other parents tell me this is what we raised them to do and be- meaning “pull away and find their own place of independence”.  Is that real, or our generation’s way of making ourselves feel better? I fear we tell ourselves this angle to soothe our own parenting fears.

I don’t like her growing up one bit.  And every year I offer to keep her back a grade if she wants to remain my little baby girl.  🙂

Yes, every year she says no.

Cheers to confidence being the new sexy.  Join me in ensuring this means confidence of self-awareness, kindness, generosity and strength. That is sexy indeed!

Namaste’

Mel

  

