Find comfort in the uncomfortable.

by crazyauntdelilah

Do you process comfort and/or feeling uncomfortable in your life as healthy, or accept as contentment? Is that good and/or good enough? And when the uncomfortable arrives at your door- either expected or not- how do you process the feelings drama-free?

I know I’m not alone. We simply want the hole in our heart – for whatever reason it feels needy- to be filled again with light.

I’ve been taught recently the transition is about 1. attachment, 2. self-love and 3. much patience. Letting a higher power guide me to my truth, never allowing anyone to pull me from my true self again, and patiently waiting the knowledge of what will be my future.

But darn, for a type A, who likes lists and action (yes, I’m the girl who used to add “shower” just to cross off the list and enjoys a good sticky note or two), this is a tough call to action. I am in charge of my own reactions and choices- good and bad, wrong and right, past, present and future. (And I readily admit I’ve made plenty of mistakes along the path.) You see, logically, I get it, but my heart (inner guide) and ego aren’t always in the same place at the same time. And they both have a voice in each of our heads. (Example: “I don’t need the 4K sq. ft. home.” (inner guide) “But it’s so beautiful and fits my career/lifestyle.” (ego))

We are human. We are conditioned for comfort. Finding comfort in the uncomfortable is the work and perhaps a wonderful reality. But, it is work, and we must be open and gentle with ourselves.

But really, wouldn’t it just be easier to wear my shoes backwards for a month to learn the same lesson?

Sometimes you are the bug. Sometimes you are the windshield.’- Mary Chapin Carpenter (lyric)

 

Today, I’m the bug. But down the road, I will be the windshield. The rock-star feeling is a great high and very comfortable, but when a ‘kick in the stomach reality’ hits, it is icky, dark and uncomfortable. Sometimes we earn that reality. Sometimes we don’t. But it still happens. And to ALL of us. Who are you in this exact moment? And when can we accept that comfort IS possible when we are uncomfortable? Does it, in fact, push us even more, when feeling uncomfortable and that “edge” are in our midst?

“We all have both good and bad feelings. Bad is a judgment based on discomfort. Learn to accept your uncomfortable feelings as important messengers. In the balance of truthful, constructive expression, you will find harmony………….Your body holds pain from the past in pockets that manifest as illness; your emotions hold negative feelings that surface as issues, fears and behaviors; your heart holds the loss of love that causes loneliness; and your mind has misunderstandings, judgments and beliefs. Each of these becomes like a suitcase full of unwanted emotions, shut up in a forgotten closet….”*

Cheers to opening the closet and embracing our own truth.

Melissa

* Angel Blessings, Rev. Kimberly Marooney, Ph.D., p. 128. Mother’s Angels: Charmiene-Harmony

